Disco Balls To The Wall: Tragedy (Album Review)

Disco Balls To The WallDisco Balls To The Wall is the first album by New York Disco-Metal kingpins Tragedy to be released on Napalm Records. A compilation album of the band finest tracks, Disco Balls To The Wall is the perfect introduction to this Metal meets the Bee Gees mix. And, incidentally, Tragedy were doing this long before the “Dee Gees” were but a glint in the Foo Fighters eyes.


1. Gimme! Gimme! Gimme! (A Man After Midnight).
2. You’re The One That I Want.
3. Evil / Baker Street *.
4. Stayin’ Alive.
5. Sweet Caroline.
6. Raining Blood / It’s Raining Men.
7. How Deep Is Your Love *.
8. Aquarius / Let the Sunshine In.
9. Africa *.
10. Total Eclipse Of The Heart.
11. Tragedy *.
12. Dancing Queen.
13. Skyfall.
14. Hot Stuff (live, Feat. Alex Skolnick) *.

*new recording.

DIsco-Metal overlords Tragedy in all their majestic glory! (Oh, and Lance as well)


Disco Balls To The Wall is exactly what the title implies. It is a heady, exciting mix of disco/pop goodness with a true “Balls To The Wall” metal edge (Yes, that is an Accept reference). The album kicks off strongly with Tragedys blistering cover of “Gimme, Gimme, Gimme (A Man After Midnight)”, and doesn’t let up from there. Initially formed as an all metal Bee Gees tribute, Tragedy branched out into general disco/pop covers over time, and that evolution is represented here. Indeed, you are 4 tracks in before you even hit a track from the Brothers Gibb.

Each song is done in a slightly different metal style. “Raining Blood/It’s Raining Men”, for example is done very much with legendary thrashers Slayer in mind. Whilst “Sweet Caroline” channels the atmospherics of King Diamond. And it isn’t just heavy metal bangers, ether. Oh no. Tragedy even slip some ballads in there with sublime covers of “Total Eclipse Of The Heart” and “Skyfall”. Indeed, “Skyfall” is one of the albums highlights, proving just how versatile Tragedy really are. And as a special treat, legendary guitarist Alex Skolnick even pops up on the album closing live rendition of “Hot Stuff” to add his unique shred to the mix.

Disco Balls To The Wall Verdict:

If you have yet to experience the majesty that is Tragedy, the Disco Balls To The Wall is the perfect introduction to them. It’s 14 tracks perfectly encapsulate the band and what the stand for. And if you are alreay a confirmed Tragedy fanatic like myself, it’s a nice little compilation to save you jumping around your playlists for your favorite tracks.

5/5 Fiends. Lance slappingly essential!

Buy Disco Balls To The Wall: Tragedy Official Website & Store.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous post Zombie Creeping Flesh (Reg B Blu Ray)
Next post The Torture Chamber Of Dr Sadism (Blu-ray, All Region)
%d bloggers like this: